top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureL Elliott

A Little About L.Elliott

Being born in New York City in 1974 is probably a story all in itself, but that is for another time. As a child, I did not have much of a voice. The old saying "children are meant to be seen and not heard" lived alive and well in my home. Therefore, writing became my voice.

My love for reading was enhanced when I entered kindergarten and my teacher, who for the life of me, I cannot remember her name, but she used to read with so much enthusiasm it made the story she was reading jump off the page. I read all that I could, and when I could, as a child. Writing for me started when I was around eight years old, I would record my favorite songs from the radio and would play them. press stop and rewind, just so I could write their lyrics.

As I began to go through different growing pains, I began to use what I learned to write my own songs and poetry. I never shared my work, but I was particularly fond of my creations. It wasn't until I was married that I saw that there was a stage where I could share my work, but I had no idea where they were besides the television show I watched.

This is where my divorce turned out to be a blessing, because it was due to this event that the door was opened for me to find my stage and allow my voice to be heard. Boy, oh boy did I use it, I shared my poetry wherever and whenever I could. My love for books had not dissipated, but grew.

Then, I began to act and work with playwrights and it was on that stage that I tapped into another love of mine: stage and screenplays. But, I knew there was more writing in me.

In 2018, I went back to an old love, writing children's fiction. I pulled out my old books and thought about rewriting them, instead God gave me three brand new stories and I wrote them all during the month of November. I am proud of my babies and I pray with all my heart that one day they will be published and that children all over the world will read. or have them read to them, my works.


Do you write? Share below why you write. I would love to hear from you.







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page